SCO Summit Samarkand Highlights: PM Modi Urges Putin To End Ukraine War, Key Point from SCO 2022


Samarkand hosted the 22nd Summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization for its member states and the Council of Heads, which ended on Friday. In an assembly with Russian President Putin, PM Narendra Modi pressured and give up the warfare in Ukraine, saying “modern-day technology isn’t always of war”.


Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the SCO Summit has been canceled for the last two years. Samarkand, this time hosting the SCO Summit 2022, is famous for its cultural importance dating back to ancient times. Read on to know the Top 10 key highlights from the SCO Summit 2022.

Top 10 key highlights from the SCO Summit 2022.

  1. In his address to the leaders of member countries at the SCO summit, Prime Minister Modi called on the Shanghai Cooperation Organization to build reliable and resilient supply chains to offset the disruptions caused by the Ukraine crisis and the COVID-19 pandemic. Citing India’s difficulties in providing aid to Afghanistan, he said the group’s members should be given full transit rights to expand connectivity. 
  2. PM Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping came face-to-face for the first time since the beginning of the border conflict between India and China in eastern Ladakh about 28 months ago.
  3. During bilateral talks with Russian President Vladimir Putin on the sidelines of the summit, Prime Minister Modi emphasized the end of the conflict in Ukraine, not the war.” Cessation of hostilities in Ukraine. ‘Today’s era is not an era of war’: Prime Minister Modi tells Russian President Putin that amid invasion of Ukraine.
  4. Uzbekistan has handed over next year’s eight-man SCO presidency to India. Xi said China will support India as president next year, and Putin congratulated the country.
  5. In particular, the SCO plans to draw up a unified list of terrorist, separatist and extremist groups whose activities are banned in member states’ territories. This movement aims to counter the threat they pose to the region.”
  6. In accordance with their national legislation and based on consensus, member states will seek to develop common principles and approaches to establish a unified list of terrorists, separatists, and terrorists and create extremists. Organizations whose activities are banned in the territories of the SCO member states,” reads the Samarkand declaration signed by the leaders of the member states.
  7. Regarding Afghanistan, member states called for the establishment of an inclusive government in the war-torn country currently under the Taliban rule. The SCO group also strove for the formation of Afghanistan as an independent, neutral, unified, democratic, and peaceful state free from terrorism, war, and drugs.
  8. On Iran, the statement said that SCO member states are considering sustainable implementation of the Joint Comprehensive Agreement. Action Plan on Iran’s Important Nuclear Program. They urged all participants to rigorously implement their commitments to implement the document fully and effectively.
  9. Recognizing the threat of chemical and biological terrorism, SCO members called for compliance with the Convention Prohibiting the Development, Production, Stockpiling, and Use of Chemical Weapons. “They emphasize the importance of the immediate destruction of all declared stockpiles of chemical weapons,” the statement said. The SCO reaffirmed its commitment to a more representative, democratic, just, and a multipolar world order based on universally recognized rights. Principles of international law, multilateralism, equal, common, indivisible, comprehensive, and sustainable security.
  10. The group also called for the creation of a transparent international energy market and the dismantling of the existing trade barriers. The SCO, seen as a counterweight to NATO, is an eight-strong economic and security bloc. It has developed into one of the largest supra-regional international organizations.

The SCO was founded in 2001 at a summit in Shanghai by the Presidents of Russia, China, the Kyrgyz Republic, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. India and Pakistan became permanent members in 2017.



Leave a Comment